Catalogs and Databases

Databases for Finding Citations

The following databases have indexed articles from thousands of different publications. Note that these indexes include citation information for articles but typically do not contain the articles themselves.

Please see a list of selected University of Washington databases that are available to NOAA West users through different mechanisms.

ASFA - Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts
Coverage: 1978-present   [noa01 wrc]
Serials Source List - Serial publications indexed for ASFA (including abbreviations).
Field codes - Legend for ASFA citations.
Thesaurus - Subject terms used for indexing articles in ASFA; may be useful in refining your search.
Fact Sheet
Quick Reference Card
ASFA and Bibliographic Managers
Web of Science
(Science Citation Index Expanded)

Coverage: 1980-present (indexed articles); unlimited (article citations)
Search millions of records for scientific article citations from journals, books, meeting abstracts, book reviews, patents, etc. Several types of searches are possible, including a General Search (based on topic, author, journal title, author affiliation), a Cited Reference Search (for articles that cite a specified author or title of a cited reference), and an Advanced Search (specify fields to search, and combine searches).

List of Indexed Journals (full titles)
EconLit with full text
Coverage: varies with journal title Contains all of the indexing of available publications in EconLit, plus full text for more than 400 journals
Hein Online
Find articles in legal journals and reviews.
PubMed
Coverage: 1966-present
PubMed comprises more than 22 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
TOXNET
Coverage: Varies
Databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health, and toxic releases.

Top